Close
Winnipeg Free Press

Free Press
Book Club

Welcome to the Free Press Book Club!

To help ease some of the isolation-related boredom, we’ve started a monthly book club which will run completely online and is open to anyone and everyone to join.

Each month, we will choose a novel and share it on this page, as well as in an email to those who have registered to participate. We’ll send a couple of follow up notes to check in on your progress and suggest a few discussion topics and questions to think about as you go.

At the end of the month, we’ll all gather to participate in a livestream book club meeting, hosted by our books editor, Ben Sigurdson, or one of our pals from McNally Robinson Booksellers, as well as the author of the book.

You’ll be able to submit questions ahead of time, or drop them into one of the live chat boxes during the meeting. (And don’t worry, we’ll provide an easy-to-access link to the stream, so all you have to do is click.)

Right now, our focus is on local authors of varying genres and backgrounds, so we hope you’re excited to dive in.

Sign Up

The Book

The Paris Apartment, by Kelly Bowen

The Paris Apartment
By: Kelly Bowen

Buy Now

From Grand Central Publishing:

This heart-wrenching novel about family and war unearths generations of secrets and sacrifices—perfect for fans of The Paris Orphan and The Lost Girls of Paris.

2017, London: When Aurelia Leclaire inherits an opulent Paris apartment, she is shocked to discover her grandmother's hidden secrets—including a treasure trove of famous art and couture gowns. One obscure painting leads her to Gabriel Seymour, a highly respected art restorer with his own mysterious past. Together they attempt to uncover the truths concealed within the apartment's walls.

Paris, 1942: The Germans may occupy the City of Lights, but glamorous Estelle Allard flourishes in a world separate from the hardships of war. Yet when the Nazis come for her friends, Estelle doesn't hesitate to help those she holds dear, no matter the cost. As she works against the forces intent on destroying her loved ones, she can't know that her actions will have ramifications for generations to come.

Set seventy-five years apart, against a perilous and a prosperous Paris, both Estelle and Lia must unearth hidden courage as they navigate the dangers of a changing world, altering history—and their family's futures—forever.

Schedule

Tue
Jun 29

Free Press Book Club pick annoucement

The Paris Apartment, by Kelly Bowen

Mon
Jul 26

Check-in

Expect an email from us to check in on your progress. We’ll offer up some discussion questions and other things to think about as you continue reading.

Mon
Aug 16

Livestream information email

This email will provide all the information you need for our livestream book club event, including the access link, some information about your viewing options and how you can submit your questions for the author ahead of time. This information will also be posted to our Free Press Book Club Facebook group.

Mon
Aug 30

Free Press Book Club meeting

Join our live chat starting at 7 p.m. CDT with special guest, author Kelly Bowen.

If you have any questions, please email us at bookclub@winnipegfreepress.com

Past Picks

The Break, by Katherena Vermette

The Break
By: Katherena Vermette

May 2020

Don’t Try This at Home, by Rob Krause and Daria Salamon

Don’t Try This at Home
By: Rob Krause and Daria Salamon

June 2020

Older Sister. Not Necessarily Related.: a memoir by Jenny Heijun Wills

Older Sister. Not Necessarily Related.: a memoir
By: Jenny Heijun Wills

July 2020

Here the Dark by David Bergen

Here the Dark
By: David Bergen

August 2020

All Our Relations by Tanya Talaga

All Our Relations
By: Tanya Talaga

September 2020

This Has Nothing to Do With You by Lauren Carter

This Has Nothing to Do With You
By: Lauren Carter

October 2020

Black Water: Family, Legacy and Blood Memory by David A. Robertson

Black Water: Family, Legacy and Blood Memory
By: David A. Robertson

November 2020

Five Wives, by Joan Thomas

Five Wives
By: Joan Thomas

December 2020/January 2021

Songs for the End of the World, by Saleema Nawaz

Songs for the End of the World
By: Saleema Nawaz

February 2021

We Are All Perfectly Fine, by Dr. Jillian Horton

We Are All Perfectly Fine
By: Dr. Jillian Horton

March 2021

Treed, by Ariel Gordon

Treed
By: Ariel Gordon

April 2021

Once Removed, by Andrew Unger

Once Removed
By: Andrew Unger

May 2021

Paul is Dead, by C.C. Benison

Paul is Dead
By: C.C. Benison

June 2021

In partnership with